As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that online platforms are becoming more common, while newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. I strongly agree with this because the easiest way to get news on time, regardless of distance, is through the Internet. Additionally, this is a way to prevent tree shortages. First of all, technological development has become increasingly popular over the years. This provides various benefits, such as receiving a vast amount of information quickly and expanding our knowledge. Regardless of location, you can access breaking news on time. For example, during my high school years, I prepared for an exam in an art subject called IGCSE. I chose the topic 'Mongolian queen', which required me to gather information about the history of Mongolian queen. Even though I couldn't find details about this topic in newspapers, I found it on Wikipedia, which is one of the most popular websites in the world. Secondly, in the past, newspapers were popular among the population due to the lack of technology. As a result, most elderly people now prefer to read the news from newspapers. However, many paper companies use trees from managed forests or tree farms, meaning that the main source of paper is wood. As a consequence, the production of newspapers and magazines contributes to tree shortages, as large quantities of trees are cut down to produce paper. It is true that reading newspapers encourages a habit of lifelong learning, as they cover a wide range of topics, including science, culture, sports, and business. Despite this, it seems that the best solution for protecting trees is the use of the internet. To conclude, the easiest way to access news is through web resources, avoiding the use of newspapers, which contributes to protecting trees. In my opinion, elderly people have the potential to learn new technology, if someone teaches them.