Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is no doubt that waste recycling is one of the major solutions to combat the issue of pollution. It is claimed by some people that the amount of homes waste is not sufficient, and they argue that laws should be imposed by governments to make people participate. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this because I believe that there are other effective methods. To begin with, governments should facilitate the ways of recycling home waste for people. This is because there are many people who can find it inconvenient to engage in recycling their waste. For instance, in my country, the recycling centre is located outside the city, and many people find it difficult to reach it. Therefore, if governments launch a mobile application for people to request a delivery truck to collect their home waste, people will be more likely to recycle their waste. Secondly, another pivotal way to make people recycle their waste is by launching awareness campaigns. The reason for this is that people must realize the damage they cause to the environment if their waste is not recycled. For example, governments can launch awareness campaigns on social media platforms to show the effects of pollution in the rivers caused by plastic waste. As a result, people will be more likely to feel responsible and will be keen on recycling their waste to minimise the negative effects of pollution. In conclusion, governments can encourage people to actively recycle their waste by making it accessible for everyone and launching awareness campaigns. In my opinion, these ways are more significant rather than making recycling a legal requirement.