The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum

Obesity is becoming a serious problem that put additional pressure on the health care system. Some people take a view that the root cause of the problem is the lack of physical activity hence they suggest to include more physical education lessons in the school program. Although, the increase in physical activity indeed is beneficial for human's health, I consider changing citizens' food choices to be the best solution. A sedentary lifestyle is extremely detrimental to our health and childhood is the best type when individuals could form healthy fitness habits. Lack of exercise is named as the main predictor for numerous conditions such as cardiovascular disease, various types of cancer and also obesity. While it is challenging for adults to change their old habits, children on the contrary are more flexible, so it makes sense to intervene at schools as it would yield the best results. However, modern science has established that calories intake is the main reason for weight gain. This means that while the increase in activity is just a partial solution to the problem. The more efficient way to tackle obesity would be related to food and nutrition. Government should consider the introduction of classes on healthy eating in schools as well as carrying out some programs aimed at the increase of healthy food availability at schools. For instance, the state might finance fruits and vegetables in schools ' canteens making them more affordable for children. To conclude, although the promotion of physical activity might have a positive impact, the most attention should be paid to interventions related to food and nutrition since they have a higher influence on human weight