Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Currently, the ancient buildings have always been a topic of interest.While some claim that these are protected by regulation since they are part of a nation’s history, the others make a statement that they should be demolished to make replacement for new ones in order to meet the ever-increasing demand of accommodations.In my opinion,these sites should be preserved because they have a wealth of historical values to our nation. It goes without saying that historic buildings play a paramount significant role in developing our knowledge about the history of a country.As they related to some remarkable pillars,people can broaden their knowledge about the way that our ancestors lived in the past or the harsh journey they went through to build the country. For instance,the Hoa Lo prison where capture thousands of patriotic Vietnamese people can help visitors, especially the youngsters to understand more about the hardships of our forefathers in wartime.And from these buildings,people can instill their patriotism and national pride. Furthermore,old buildings also act as a source of tourism development.Local and foreign visitors tend to come to these places to explore about the historical architecture in the flesh and have more understanding about the history and cultural features of that country. It is irrefutable to note that tatty buildings can sometimes bring negative effects to the quality of urban infrastructure. Therefore,to meet the demand for accommodation and workplace,the government should expand and renovate these places. However,with some historical sites they should have sufficient tactics to preserve and maintain them such as applying more top-notch devices to restore but still keep the prime beauty of them. In conclusion,the values of historical buildings are undeniable despite some arguments in replacing them for new ones. Hence,I think there should be more suitable approaches to protect these places.