Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Certain individuals imagine that kids must be educated to compete in their schools whereas the other outlook is that teamwork and cooperative aptitudes are more critical. In my opinion, both views are important. The essay will detail this position below. First, competition is an essence in the present development of children as well as in their future. It encourages them to be forceful and vociferous in their lives and extremely innovative and meticulous. This is because competitive individuals want to win at all costs and always aim for the best, for example, Christiano Ronaldo claims that while he was not the best in the classroom, he ensured that he scored the highest in sports where his strengths lay, and this is one of the reasons why he is the world's best footballing personality today. It is unfortunate that in the spirit of competition, some end up breaking the rules and, for sportspersons in particular, abusing drugs to increase their chances of winning. This is why partnerships and teamwork, on the other hand, are also equally important. In terms of the second view, working in teams ensures that children can develop relational skills which are important not only for specific tasks but also for general social life. In interacting with others the kids can improve on their poor social skills and emerge as good future adults that are dependable, humble, tolerant and responsible communicators. For instance, certain games done in primary schools such as running relay races have the aim of teaching pupils how to work together as a team to achieve set responsibilities. In conclusion, therefore, both of these two perspectives are intelligible. I argue that a balance must be reached in educational settings to try and teach both skills so as to have high achieving and good citizens in the future. This position was discussed in the essay above.