As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In developed countries, the purchasing of motor vehicles is constantly on the rise. To show that, average sales of cars are usually higher in advanced societies. The fact that there are clear benefits to each one who owns a car and the disadvantages this situation creates for the environment is widely argued by many. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, the convenience of having a private vehicle makes it easier for an individual to plan a journey. For instance, if you own a car you do not need to adhere to public transport system timetables. Thus, you have more flexibility around the details of the trip. This is one of the reasons why it is considered a great option to have purchased an automobile. Nevertheless, the fact is every motor vehicle emits toxic fumes that are harmful to our environment. When compared to public transportation systems, it becomes apparent that private motorized vehicles emit a larger amount of CO2. Therefore, people should be opting for public transportation rather than purchasing a car if their aim is to protect the planet. To summarise, the two sides of the argument of the benefits of owning a vehicle in contrast to the damage to the environment it creates, are strongly supported. However, after a thorough analysis of both sides, it is clear that the disadvantages on the environment caused by private vehicles outweigh the benefits for the individuals.