Some people think that it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate around which facilities are better for a new town. Somehow, it seems to be a better option to have more public parks and sports facilities rather than shopping malls. It is strongly agreed recreation spaces are more beneficial for the communities. Analysing the negative impact shopping malls have on the population's health, as well as the detrimental effect on the youth should they have limited access to opportunities to exercise will prove this. Firstly, communities with fewer opportunities to exercise for free are more vulnerable to developing obesity. This is because a population group that has no place to work out in a safe, convenient and free of charge manner will tend to be more sedentary. For this reason, creating public parks and recreation centres ensures communities have an accessible way to keep physically active. Therefore, it is in the communities ' best interest to have sports facilities. Having more shopping malls instead of sports facilities would have a negative impact on the youth living in the community. For instance, it is widely known that teenagers and young adults who exercise, particularly as part of a sports team, are less likely to use drugs. Consequently, young adults live healthier and happier lives. Evidently, it would be the wrong choice to build more retail centres instead of fostering a healthier culture within the society with more recreation centres. In conclusion, the communities would benefit largely from having more spaces where folk can exercise such as public parks. This would reduce the frequency of drug use among the youngest. Therefore, it is clear the idea of investing in public spaces and recreation centres should be supported. After a thorough analysis on this subject, it is predicted that having an imbalance in shopping malls to recreation spaces ratio would be detrimental to the communities wellbeing. Furthermore, having more shopping malls instead of sports facilities would be harmful to any community.