Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by certain individuals that youngsters should follow the traditions of their community. However, others argue that youngsters should behave according to their free will. I believe that individuals should follow their free will instead of forcefully following the traditions. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both views. On the one hand, each nation has its own set of traditional values and customs. The traditional values and principles of nations or cultures help them bind their people together. The individuals who believe that youngsters should follow the traditions of their community do so because traditions help younger generations connect with their ancestors through traditional values. For example, the tradition of greeting elders with folded hands and saying "namaste" in a country like India helps youngsters to get connected with elders through traditional values. Above all, it helps a nation to maintain a collective identity. On the other hand, the younger generation should not be forced to follow traditional values as each individual has the right to live according to their own choices. Today because of technology and advancement, individuals are getting more familiar with the term modernization. However, modernization does not mean abandoning the values of their traditions altogether. Instead, it means adopting new habits and needs that people did not know earlier. Therefore, it is necessary to give freedom to young individuals so that they can make better choices. To sum up, people must teach traditional values to the young generation, but they should not be forcefully imposed on them.