Many people go to university for acadamic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualifed workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s obvious that many people pursue the dream of entering university for academic studies. It can’t be denied that university graduates have a great chance of a good job in the future, I strongly agree that we should encourage more people to take part in vocational training for skilled workers as electricians or plumbers … There are several reasons why more people should be encouraged to enrol in vocational training. Firstly, tradesman plays a very important role in maintaining social activities. We need skilled workers in all areas of human being activities. For instance, when a building is constructed, we need workers to build it up. And, to ensure the safety of use of buildings such as hospitals, museums, schools, roads, we also need them for maintenance. Secondly, when most people choose to study at university, it causes an imbalance of labour demand which leads to the unemployment of university graduates but lack of people to do manual works. More people must be encouraged to attend vocational training courses. The onus is on schools to incorporate relevant subjects into the curriculum, so that not all the emphasis is placed on preparation for academic study at university. Many boys and girls are not academically inclined, but this doesn't mean that school should consider them as failures. For example, workshops in schools could provide an opportunity to learn " hands-on skills", adapting the theory of the physics lessons to practical applications. Parents should also help children to choose vocational careers, explaining the good employment prospects and remuneration for manual workers with qualifications and skills. In conclusion, while studying at university is a good option for most young people, I still agree that we should encourage more people to go for vocational training for skilled workers in order to ensure the balance of employment in society.