People say that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, studying abroad has never failed to provoke debates. It is argued that scholars learning abroad could bring a wealth of tremendous benefits for the mother nation. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I consider myself a partial advocate of this perspective. Overseas students have foreign language proficiency and a set of skills acquired in developed nations may become high quality human resources for the advancement of their country. Specifically, they have a firm grasp in a flood of aspects such as Marketing or business administration so they can impulse international business and partnerships. Moreover, international students have had the opportunity to experience and adapt to cultural diversity across different countries. As a result, they can shape a culturally inclusive society in their nations with a view not to be left behind. While the redeeming features of study in foreign countries are widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. Specifically, many international students who go to other countries for educational purposes may decide to settle as a resident because of the progressive living conditions of those countries. For example, because the USA has better living standards and career development opportunities than Vietnam, the scholars studying there may make up their minds to dwell there they after study. This trend represents a significant loss for the economic development of their home countries since the well-trained workers use their skills and knowledge to benefit other nations. Consequently, these are called brain drain and would have a serious impact on their country’s workforce. In conclusion, although the development of study abroad can have a great impact on the home country, the government should find viable solutions in order to curb the brain drain problems.