Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentence. Other, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that crime is one of the pressing problems across the globe and all countries are trying to deal with this issue. Some people argue that making the duration of prison sentences longer can help to solve this issue; while others disagree with this view and agree that there are other effective ways to combat this problem. In my opinion, I take the view that there are other ways that can fight this issue. On the one hand, it is considered by many people that making severe punishment for those who commit crimes can be an effective solution. if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any atrocities, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. Hence, imposing strict punishment deters people from committing crimes. On the other hand, I believe that alternative ways such as providing proper learning facilities and employment can solve the issues far more effectively. Sufficient education and job opportunities keep individuals busy and away from crimes. For example, in Sweden education is free for everyone and the country’s authority is continuously working for more employment opportunities. That is the reason why Sweden tops the list of peaceful countries where the crime rate is almost ignorable. In conclusion, longer prison terms certainly instil fear in the minds of potential criminals and discourage them from committing offences. However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing learning and employment opportunities is a far better option.