Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance.  To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The markets worldwide have come closer and as a result, the product with a high demand in one country may be required to be produced in some other countries. This arrangement will often have logistical hurdles. We will see if transporting goods of everyday use from long distance is beneficial or does it have its share of problems. Any product will have to be transported from other country only if the domestic manufacturers are unable to fulfill the expectations of the buyers or the product is not at all available in domestic country. For example, there is huge demand for kiwis in India as the fruit is often marketed as the healthier option to domestic because of its nutritional properties. Since Kiwis are mostly produced in New zealand, bringing them to India will be quite time consuming considering the distance that makes both the countries apart. Fruits being perishable in nature, tend to be deteriorate in quality quickly that other products. As a result of this, the ideal nutrients that are supposed to benefit the consumer may actually be lost in transit. Also, because of this artificially created demand, local manufacturers will be left with unsold stock, which will also move down in quality. On the other hand, non perishable items, such as tooth brushes, tooth pastes, branded formal clothes, gadgets such as mobiles, produced in other destinations provide buyers with a lot of variety to choose from. It brings in perfect competition and guaranteed quality items. One can consider an example of German cars being manufactured in Germany and being assembled in India as a final product. It gives an Indian car manufacturer, a run for their money if the German car is able to make heads turn purely because of its design and performance. To conclude, I can say that, the advantages of the disadvantages of a product manufactured outside the home country, will depend on the nature of product. It can be said with some leve of comfort that, the number of positives will outnumber its negatives.