It is said that the eldest child in a family always has a stronger desire than his or her siblings. Is this really true? What do you think about this? Write an essay of 350 words on this.

Some advocate that the first -born child invariably has greater ambitions than do his or her siblings, while others suggest the contrary. From my perspective, I voice approval of the former, believing that the eldest kid in a family always has an inclination to be more aspiring, be it due to internal or external facilitators. In the first place, it is the firstborn’s upbringing condition that generally fosters a sense of aspiration within him or her, if not gets it deep-rooted. In other words, big brothers or sisters are assumed to shoulder more responsibilities than their siblings as well as live up to their parents’ higher expectations, therefore feeling it their duty to aim higher and accomplish more. Additionally, parents also presume that first -born offspring should be exemplary for their brothers and sisters to model on. In reality, there exist lots of cases in which the eldest child outshines the younger ones. For instance, Mark Bezos, the entrepreneur of Amazon, is one of the wealthiest people on the planet, while his younger brother - Jeff Bezos, is not as brilliant. Overall there is a high likelihood of the firstborn in a family being more desirous due to his nurturing environment. What is more, older children usually cherish the feeling of being looked up to by their younger siblings, thus endeavouring to reinforce this. Firstborns tend to get the most mental stimulation, since they receive the undivided attention of both parents, hence the need for self-affirmation by having greater aspirations. For instance, several studies on birth-order differences point out that eldest children are more likely to become CEOs or politicians, while the younger are more inclined to occupations with less competitiveness. On that account, it stands to reason that it is the feeling of being respected and given more attention that makes a more ambitious firstborn. All things considered, it is undeniable that the eldest child in the family is granted more opportunities as well as given more responsibilities to nurture stronger desires. Therefore, I am supportive of the former, believing that first -born offspring are somehow still more up-and-coming in various aspects.