Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, advertising is becoming an indispensable part of commercial campaigns. However, there is some controversy about its effectiveness. Some people say yes, while others say no. Both sides have their own reasons that will be discussed further in this writing. Personally, I believe that it is not the responsibility of advertising, the effectiveness of advertising is determined by the attractiveness and creativity of its content. On the one hand, it is undeniable that thanks to advertising, commercial businesses and manufacturers can widen their clients’ and customers’ perspectives on their services and products. As a result, businesses can benefit from it in ways such as sale growth, market share increase and revenue leverage. For instance, if there is no advertising and marketing campaign, a company from the US like Apple Inc. would not be as well-known around the world as it is today and its market share would definitely be much lower. Clearly, advertising can assist businesses in spreading their images and product information to a large number of potential customers. On the other hand, it is understandable that why many people deny the role of advertising in recent days. With the advancement of technology, advertisements can now be seen almost anywhere. Without any speciality, those ads can be ignored or forgotten easily. However, it is the marketers who should be responsible for this issue. Because of the lack of creativity, the low standards of accepted marketing proposals, more and more monotonous advertisements are produced and introduced to potential customers. That way, advertising is downgraded by people overall. For example, most cosmetics ads have similar content in which a girl or woman gains her confidence after using a specific product. While there is no big difference in the ingredients or the formula, those identical stories may fail to attract people’s interest, especially for a new launch brand. In conclusion, I am convinced that advertising plays a crucial role in persuading customers to buy things. The problem is that the marketing team needs to be more creative in order to create qualifier advertisements that can impress their viewers.