Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that only politicians are responsible for environmental issues and the citizens can do nothing at all. I strongly disagree with this statement because, without pressure from individuals, politicians often do not work properly. Ordinary people can make a significant contribution. Nowadays, the protection of nature is an important subject for all nations and all human beings living on the Earth, no matter their job, social class or beliefs. It is an urgent problem that affects everybody in the world. Some may argue that only presidents, primer-ministers, and legislators should create laws and regulations to safeguard ecosystems. However, political leaders are frequently more interested in staying in power and getting votes than resolving environmental matters such as air pollution, water contamination, global warming or climate change. Sometimes, lobbying from big companies like petrol or car industries can induce important decisions for politicians. So, I think the environmental problem is the obligation of all society. Putting pressure on our representatives is one way to try to solve this subject. There are several other forms to protect our planet. For example, residents of a neighbourhood can organize themselves to separate waste and send it to recycling. Another example that normal people can do is purchase items from companies that protect nature and sell green products. In conclusion, in my point of view, society has the main role in keeping the planet safe. There are several ways to do that, and politics is only one way. Normal people in their everyday actions, can also contribute to climate change by choosing bicycles or electric cars instead of regular cars that use petrol, reducing pollution in the air, especially CO2.