An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online.

Online shopping has recently gained popularity, especially as it is a better and safer alternative given the busy modern lifestyle and amid an ongoing pandemic. Its main benefits include convenience, accessibility and lower cost. Nevertheless, it does have shortcomings in terms of logistics and unethical practices. Firstly, most people prefer online shopping due to its convenience. Online shopping usually includes delivery services. Many services even take it a step further by allowing same-day delivery and free returns. Additionally, same-day delivery plays a tremendous role for many big supermarkets such as Tesco and Giant to advertise the freshness of their products for their consumers.Whereas, big online shopping websites such as Shopee, Lazada and Tao Bao are able to advertise products that are more uncommon or from smaller businesses, thus promoting growth and competition. Moreover, online shopping is very lucrative and tends to be cheaper than in-store shopping given the potential cost reduction in staffing, retailers and intermediaries. Nonetheless, online shopping has disadvantages. Online consumers are guided by advertisements and feedback online, without necessarily having to view products physically. This may cause consumer dissatisfaction and more product returns due to unmet expectations. Consumers may also fall prey to false advertising and feedback. Also, quality and defects may not be tightly monitored,potentially making products unsafe for use. Not only that, unexpected logistics issues can also occur during the delivery process. For instance, parcels could be confiscated by customs, or damaged during transportation. In conclusion, online shopping provides greater convenience and accessibility. However, there are still challenges with online shopping, for which both buyers and sellers need to recognise their respective responsibilities to promote safe and ethical shopping.