News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Nowadays presumably every household in this world has at least one television at home, and through which they can easily access the news. This activity has almost become one of the people's daily routines. Some people found that the amount of bad news is more than that of good news, and they are wondering what causes this and are thinking that would it be better if media can broadcast more good news. In my opinion, the reason why there is so much bad news is due to the audience's preferences, and I believe that good news is equally important as bad news. First of all, the fact that the amount of bad news is times more than that of good news is led by the audience's preferences. This is because bad news is usually more appalling and eye-catching, which can attract more people to follow. For example, in Taiwan just because people like it, shooting, drunk driving, or abduction usually become headline news and such news will be broadcast for a long period of time until another hideous news shows up. As a result, media can receive more followers. On the other hand, while it is true that bad news can easily catch people's eyes, the good news is also important. This is because positive news can inspire individuals to be optimistic, which will improve our society as a whole. For instance, a touching story such as helping the or rescue operations of a homeless pet can grow a sense of sympathy within people's, which as a result more and more people will do. In conclusion, individuals' preferences are the main factor driving media to broadcast negative news. From my point of view, our society can become better if the number of positive news outweighs that of negative news.