In what ways does art reflect the culture and values of a society? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using art as a means of communication?

Art has always been a part of human heritage reflecting social trends of past societies and delivering their traditions and values through generations. Additionally, art has a power to communicate with different societies and people of unequal background without cultural borders such language. In my opinion, there is not a great variety of ways in which art reflects the culture and values of a society. It eventually becomes a mirror of the historical period. The difference is only in an object that gives the start to a new trend. On the one hand, trends, which will be reflected in art, can be provoked by a person or a group of people. For example, propaganda posters by Mayakovski were popular in the 20s and were used by the Soviet government to encourage people to support politicians or to join social trends. These posters are well-known and recognizable nowadays. They are a part of Russian history. Thus, they reflect the values which that generation followed. On the other hand, a mood in a society triggers artists to reflect the atmosphere in their works. For instance, the hippies decade is an important cultural layer of the USA history that found a reflection in books, movies, and other arts. As a communication tool art can unite people of different cultures through a visual image. It is a common language understandable for people all over the world. However, it is not the most reliable form of communication. Art always leaves a place for different interpretations based on cultural differences and personal background. In conclusion, art serves as a reflection of the culture and society’s values, acting as a historical mirror. While it can unite people across cultures through visual language, the interpretation of art is often influenced by individuals which makes it a good communication form but controversial sometimes.