plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of air and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree ?

Plastic shopping bags have been long recognised as one of the causes of air and water pollution. Some individuals argue that they should be banned. I firmly agree with the prohibition of plastic bags and think that there should be alternatives to replace them. To begin with, rubber-made bags are accounted for harming our environment. In fact, a big amount of those products are thrown into rivers and seas. This phenomenon can be seen in the rivers in Jakarta, in which plastics are the ones responsible for producing hazardous stuff in the seawater. Other than that, Jakarta has also been named as the second largest city which produces synthetic trash in the world. This instance shows the impact plastic shopping bags have made on our surroundings. As it is evident that plastic trading bags are polluting the ecosystem, banning should be executed, and measures should be taken. First, limiting the use of plastics can be done by promoting some substitutions, such as bags made of fibre or other reusable carriages. Second, stores and malls should not provide their customers with any plastic bags. McDonald's in Indonesia, for example, no longer uses plastic bags to wrap their food, otherwise, they use paper instead. In other words, the government should set a policy and every person has a responsibility to enable this movement. To sum up, people believe that plastic bags are pollutants. Subsequently, they should not be used for shopping anymore. Therefore, I suggest that those who still utilise plastic bags should start limiting their use of them and migrate to environmentally friendly equipment.