Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is perceived that the effective way to remedy issues relating to the environment is to increase the pump price of gas for vehicles generally. Although some people believe that this move would resolve the environmental crisis, however, I vehemently disagree with that statement. This essay will elaborate that petroleum products such as fuel is not the major cause of climate disasters and increasing the cost price will not yield their intended purpose. To start with, research has shown that harvesting trees without replacing them, mining and poor waste management are the major causes of environmental problems. Besides, if we fail to address the aforementioned causes and concentrate on fuel alone, I am afraid that the situation will be worse in the future. For instance, the government should legislate a law that prohibits the cutting of trees, wrongful disposal of waste and regulate mining companies. Despite the fact that increasing the prices of gas would to some extent aid in protecting the environment, nonetheless, it will not have tremendous a benefit as one may think. Moreover, even though an uptrend in the prices of gas to some extent will curb about 10% of environmental problems, that in itself is not sufficient, as it will cause hardship on the people as most of them will resort to other activities such as coal mining which will be detrimental to the environment. To exemplify, in 2021, the authorities in Sierra Leone increased the cost of fuel from 10,000 Leones to 20,000 Leones per litre in order to discourage vehicle owners from using their cars. Sadly, the transport fare for public transport shot up and the prices of groceries and other goods became a big challenge for its citizens. In addition, curbing fuel in isolation will not be beneficial to the climate. In conclusion, even though some people believe that increasing the cost of fuel for vehicles in my estimation, I totally disagree with that position.