Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that people should pay more money on buying sugary products in order to reduce the health problems caused by sugar. Personally, I disagree with the idea to increase the price of sugary products, because I believe that there is a more advisable way to reach that. For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to raise the price of products with a high level of sugar. Firstly, increasing price cannot forbid people from eating sugar. For example, they can add more sugar to their homemade food, leading to the same consequences that they still intake too much sugar. Secondly, it is unequal to the manufacturers whose major in producing sugary food, because the high price of their products may reduce their sales which result in a declining financial trend. Finally, buying expensive products are regarded as a sign of high financial status by some people nowadays, so it is possible that it may attract more people to purchase it. In my opinion, it is more vital for the government to raise citizens‘ awareness of sugar -caused health problems. The health problems caused by sugar are still not recognised by the majority of people, which contribute to the constant intake of sugar products. So the essential measure we should take to make people consume less sugar is to deepen their understanding of sugar effects, for example, we can set courses about health issues in the first and secondary school that children sometimes ingest more sugar than adults, as well as the universities, some companies and in hospitals. The government can also establish laws to enforce manufacturers to print the disadvantages of sugar in their products ' packages to warn people who intend to eat this. In conclusion, I believe it is more important to raise individual awareness of sugar -caused health issues instead of setting a higher price for sugary products.