Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth of credit card usage all over the world nowadays is tremendous. It is easy for people to apply for and be granted a credit card by a bank. This phenomenon has pros and cons, but this essay will contend that, on balance, the advantages of having credit cards outweigh the negatives. The first issue for individuals who own credit cards is the failure to make their debt payments. On average people have more than one credit card. Banks as the provider of CCs are competing to provide excellent services to their customers. This is regarding their goal to attract as much as mankind, especially young employees, to be their new customers. The convenience they offered for instance giving them the ease of paying all bills with just one card, providing the maximum limit of financing or giving rewards or gimmicks for the top spenders. However, the hidden problem that might people late aware of is they didn’t count it thoroughly about the total payments for all their spending they have done within a month. If only they knew about it, they would have better self-control in it. The next month when they receive the invoice from the bank, they might feel shocked, deceived and confused about how they get the money to pay the bills. That being said, having a credit card gives a lot of benefits in terms of making international payments, helping people to get emergency cash and taking advantage of many promos that are bound to it. Sometimes we get into a situation where we need to make an international payment. Since we do not have a currency or a system to enable human beings to make transactions or wire transfers to relatives or colleagues in other parts of the world, thus using credit cards is the only option people have. In other circumstances, people need cash in a hurry for special occasions, for example, people who are grieving and need some fresh cash to arrange everything properly, but their situation disables them from doing so, then drawing some cash from a credit card might be the only solution for them. Lastly, as mentioned above banks usually give extra discounts to credit card holders, thus some people tend to take advantage of it, either discounts for aeroplanes, hotels, electronics, furniture or food. While it is true that having a credit card is challenging for people who own it, it is clear that these are outweighed by the benefits that credit cards could offer.