In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Traffic congestion is a serious issue in many parts of the world. This is because of the poor infrastructure of the roads and lack of proper public transports.Improving the public transport systems and proper connectivity of roads will solve the issue to some extent. One main reason for high traffic jams is that roads are not properly connected and narrow lanes of the main roads of the cities.Most of the working-class people, as well as school children, start their day at the same time.If there are no flyovers,underground bridges or additional lanes, traffic gets concentrated at the same place. Moreover,insufficient lanes for many vehicles to pass through at the same time increase the problem. Furthermore,many cities have not improved public transport systems forcing people to take personal vehicles. For instance,even if each member of a family takes their vehicle for work then traffic problems aggravate.These are the reasons for a high volume of traffic jams in the developed part of the world. The main solution for overcoming this issue is to increase connectivity in roads.Constructing fly-over bridges,underground passages will help in diverting traffic to a certain level.Additional by-lanes connecting the main road also divert traffic present on the main roads.Another solution is upgrading public transport systems at regular intervals in the urban areas.Government should increase local buses in the routes where traffic jam is seen the most. Also,new forms of transport like over-head metro rails do make a big difference in reducing the volume. For example,Dubai,one of the busiest cities in the world constructed Dubai metro rail as an answer to their traffic woes.These solutions help in overcoming traffic jam issues to a large extent. To conclude,high vehicular traffic congestion is a major issue in the modern world.Bad infrastructure and poor connectivity are the cause of this problem; however,improving connectedness and increasing public transport services solve this problem to a large extent.