In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages to study abroad?

Nowadays, students are having many opportunities on deciding a place for their education. Although in the past when teenagers did their university degree they preferred to do in their home country, but these days due to the available opportunities they graduate from universities abroad. In this essay, I will be discussing both the advantages and disadvantages of studying overseas. To begin with, one of the most important advantages of graduating from international colleges is that children get to experience a different environment. Additionally, youths at a young age are very adaptable and get easily adjusted to the new culture and hence start being more independent that contributes towards their personal growth. For instance, a recent study done in India shows that young adults who pursue their education in the neighbouring countries, tend to be self-dependent by learning to manage their own expenses on day to day basis. Subsequently, this attitude of being independent gets inculcated in them from a young age. On the other hand, while there are some benefits of getting educated overseas, there are several disadvantages too. Firstly, an important drawback of not studying in one's home country is that the number of students being graduated from that homeland starts reducing at an increasing rate. Moreover, this will impact the economic stability and growth of the country. For example, the literacy rate in countries such as India and China are reducing because of fewer people graduating in these countries. Hence the economic growth is affected. By way of conclusion, in spite of various advantages of getting an educational degree from abroad, there are many drawbacks too as it will have a negative impact on the homeland that affects the economical prosperity.