The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Investments in cultural sectors, such as arts, music, and theatre, are equally essential. Nowadays those sectors become popular as there are many producers and consumers from a wide range of ages who are interested in creating and spending their budget for their entertainment’s needs. Therefore, I partially agree with the argument that government should invest these funds in public services only because cultural fields also have positive impacts on society to create job and financial opportunities. Firstly, nowadays, cultural sectors are being a crucial need for some people as there are economic opportunities. The government should play a role as well to help society grow. For instance, by building a skill development centre, the ruler could help the society to improve their skills in arts, such as clothing design, software design, or music recording. Hence, they can create a new idea of business that can earn income and create a job market in the future. Additionally, many people prefer to spend some money on entertainment, such as in entertainment, music concert, etc. The consumers and producers are benefited from the cultural sectors. Thus, the government should invest in these sectors as they have a major impact on society. On the other hand, the people in a country will need a public service to improve their quality of life. Based on data from New York Times Magazine, more than 70% of residents of a nation, are very dependent on public facilities, such as toll roads, public transportation, and other public spaces. These facilities are used for people to work, go to school, or public community. Without support from the government, it would be costly if the society have to pay to utilize it. Therefore, the government needs to support these public services as these are crucial for the people ’s needs. In conclusion, the government should not focus to invest funds in public services only, the other sectors, such as art, music, and theatre are also important sectors in order to generate economic opportunity and create a job market for their society.