Many countries spend a lot of money on improved transport for urban areas while neglecting rural transport. What are the problems associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

Several nations spend heavily on the development of transportation systems in urban areas while ignoring rural transport. This can lead to several issues like unemployment and also the local businesses may not be able to export their products. In addition to this, students may not be able to attend schools which are far from their hometown due to the unavailability of public transport. The following essay would discuss these problems in detail, and provide feasible solutions that a government can take. One of the major problems due to poor road, rail, and air infrastructure is that businesses won't set up their factories, leading to fewer jobs. Moreover, children would not be able to attend school that is far away from their home. Apart from this, it wouldn't be possible for a farmer to send his harvested crop to nearby cities or different countries so that he gets a better price for his produce. For example: An article published by 'The Hindu' stated that there was a place called Khanapur, in Karnataka and there were few students from the locality who wanted to study Science after 10th standard unfortunately there was only one such college which was approximately 20km from my hometown. The only reason they didn't take the admission was that there were no buses for travelling. In short, poor locomotive infrastructure can hinder the growth of a place, children and business. A possible solution to these problems is, that the Government takes responsibility and ensures that proper funds are given to the localities for developing rails, roads, airports etc. For instance, as per the data released by Indian Government, 10 years back Maharashtra spent 1 million dollars in building top-class roads in Bhoj, which led major companies to start their industries creating at least 10,000 jobs. Therefore, proper reallocation of the budget needs to be done. In conclusion, if a country needs to develop then the locomotive sector of villages needs to grow, this can be achieved by the formation of proper policies and the allocation of enough funds by local as well as central bodies.