The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient way of life for the sake of future generations. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an idea that current environmental issues are to be solved by prioritising the needs of future generations and giving up the comfort of present generations. Although I support the idea that there must be alterations in the life of today’s people, I think that environmental problems can be solved by meeting the needs of both present and future generations. The concept of sustainable development supports the idea of the betterment of our lives without compromising that of our descendants. For example, guiding principles of sustainable development include living within environmental limits, ensuring a strong, healthy and just society and achieving a sustainable economy. One of the sustainability priorities is environmental balance, which means that people must consume natural resources, such as fuels, materials, water at a sustainable rate. Nowadays there are found 17 goals of sustainable development. Some of them are climate action, responsible consumption and production, protecting life below water and on land. Climate change is an undeniable threat to the entire civilisation, so actions must be taken as soon as possible. For instance, in some countries, the government has offered to increase the cost of fuel to reduce carbon dioxide emissions. 80% surveyed agreed with that and added, that everyone should change their lifestyle to prevent serious climate changes. Poaching is another issue, which comes from people’s whim and should be strictly banned. In conclusion, I would like to say that by making our environment better, we lay the foundation for the welfare of our progeny. I believe that people should cut down on unwise consumption, and begin to develop, affecting all issues.