In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology develops, the gap between different ages has expanded especially the difference between parents and kids is generally greater than in the past. There exists a debate about whether the merits of the situation outweigh the demerits. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand neutrally with both sides as the situation brings not only conflicts in families but also progress in society. Initially, the difference between the two generations is prone to becoming misunderstood which will intensify conflicts in families. As more and more teenagers rely on smartphones, online games, social media and so on, they may spend less time on family.The condition will lead to insufficient communication between parents and children. For example,youngsters may prefer to stay in their rooms or stay outside instead of being with their parents since they think they are not fully understood by their parents.It can result in serious problems when youngsters seek support from strangers online. Thus, the generational gap in families has some shortcomings. At the other end of the spectrum, the age difference can be inspirations in social progress. Diverse thinking and opinions will help society to improve.Take art fields for instance, the diversity of design is due to the creativity of various designers. Therefore,the importance of difference turns into the sources which enrich the development of the industry. To sum up, despite the fact that the situation of generational difference may evoke bias in families,its significance in social progress cannot be denied. Hence, I think the advantages of this situation are equal to its disadvantages.