Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in todays world, subjects like Science and technology are most important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement of technology and science, citizens’ lives have dramatically changed these days. Some people argue that history should be considered one of the most significant academic disciplines, while others disagree with this, stating that more practical subjects are more important than the past. On the one hand, it is claimed that learning the past can be an essential subject for some students. For example, some high school students are required to master history to pass an entrance examination of a university which adopts history as a subject for admission tests. Additionally, students who are willing to engage in work related to history, such as politics, in the future can obtain benefits from history. Specifically, they would gain profound insights into the prospects of politics by analyzing the past. Consequently, learning the past can lead some students to their desired future. In contrast, it is frequently argued that practical subjects should be more focused. Firstly, advanced automation has the potential to improve people ’s lives, which means that the advent of the Internet or artificial intelligence led to a more efficient and convenient lifestyle. Furthermore, economic growth can be generated by the development of machinery. For instance, not only tech companies can gain enormous profits when they develop new gadgets such as a new type of iPhone, but also food providers can obtain an opportunity to broaden their business because of the development of genetically modified food. As a result, we can say that these practical skills should be valued. In conclusion, it seems to me that science and technology should be considered more important than history because although people who receive the benefits from history are limited to a few people, science and technology bring about great benefits to a wider range of people in society.