Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The migration of the younger generation to urban areas is leaving the rural locations populated predominantly by the elderly. This essay argues that the loss of young people from rural landscapes has problematic consequences. The two most serious are, the depletion of the rural workforce and the loss of the local education facilities. When 18 to 30-year-olds move to towns and cities in search of new opportunities, they left behind an ageing population to do their work. Employment in the countryside involves manual labour. This can be difficult for elderly folks as it is far more suited for fit and healthy young people. A government survey, for instance, carried out over the past decade, reveals that the number of old farmer farms is being sold to developers is increasing year by year. The main reason given for this is that the parents can no longer manage to do all the hard work themselves and their sons and daughters have moved to urban locations to seek new opportunities. Furthermore, in many rural spaces, there is no longer a village institution for the local children to attend. With fewer young families living on the farms or in the villages, there are not enough kids to keep the local primary school open. This is a huge loss for rural communities as it means that children living in the countryside often have to travel a long way to present at school each day. For example, in the region of Gazipur where I live, every village had its own school just forty years ago. Now only a handful of this still exists since most of them have converted into houses as well as holiday cottages. In conclusion, The significant rise in the average age of people living in the local areas has resulted in a lack of suitable folks to fill the workforce along with the closure of the majority of village schools, causing hardship to local communities.