It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s argued that children should study the history of their country /region rather than the history of the world. While I agree that learning about regional history is important, I don’t agree that world history is less important. There are some reasons why children should be taught about their regional history. Firstly, children should know about the origin of where they were born. It helps them to well understand their own country. For instance, the Vietnamese people should know about the history of thousand of years of forming and fighting against colonialism. Therefore, the youngster will be educated to appreciate the value of liberty they are having at present. Secondly, if young children have a deep understanding of the history of their country, they can introduce to friends in other countries and help them to know more about their home country. Besides, learning about the local history, children should be encouraged to study about world history for some reason. Firstly, the trend of globalization is making people all over the world come closer to each other. Learning about the tradition and history of other countries will foster mutual understanding among people over the world. For that reason, it becomes easier for people to communicate & understand each other. Secondly, studying world history help children have an overview of the origin of other nations and the relationship among countries over the world as well as the historical events such as World War 1, World War 2, the end of colonialism. In conclusion, I would argue that young people should learn about the history of their country as well as world history.