In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, there is a trend in certain states that individuals grow more curious about the past of their dwellings. That essay will discuss the causes for that enthusiasm and how those people can investigate the history of their houses. There are many reasons why someone got intrigued to realize the research of his residence history. Most often people do it because they are curious. To illustrate, they found something interesting or a strange artefact in their home and want to know the story of that or to study its origin. Another reason to dip in these investigations is that the residents suspect that their home is haunted. In these cases, knowing the truth can help individuals drive away their fears. For the time being, not only libraries, archives and local authorities are providing that information, but new sources about homes history are emerging. Namely, local studies centres and specialist websites. In UK National Heritage List for England records a brief overview of the date of construction and significant features of every building in England. Sometimes persons get to know about their accommodation by means of plaques attached to the facades of those buildings. In conclusion, as people are getting more involved in knowing the genesis of their homes, more and more resources are emerging. Some of these resources are making available the information that was hidden in the past. The key reasons why men and women are looking for that information are curiosity and suspicion about the ghosts in their dwellings.