Write a statement of intent where you highlight your literary influences in your primary genre (favorite authors / works) - other genres you anticipate working in - past experiences with other writing teachers / mentors - a brief description of your potential thesis project (if you have one in mind) -

In middle school, I came across a quotation that made me believe in the power of words. That quotation was “Literature is the expression of society just like the word is the expression of a human being”. My love to express my unuttered emotions through writing expanded as I moved from middle school to secondary school. I began experiencing poetry. After school, I studied English Language and Literature in an attempt to choose creative writing as my major. Unfortunately, creative writing was not one of the majors offered at the faculty. Thus, after graduation I chose to feed my love for words with literature. I continued practising writing poetry and fiction besides the postgraduate studies. I was influenced by how my professors became well-known authors. I looked up to Prof. Mohamed Anani and Prof. Yehia Kamel who were exceptional writers and critics that publishers sought to publish their works. Moreover, as a feminist and a member of a female nongovernmental organization, I was influenced by many female writers. My primary influencers were Maya Angelou and Betty Shamieh. Maya Angelou has shaped the feminist, activist and genuine poet in me as my favourite poem for her is “Still I Rise”, whereas Betty Shamieh added a true aim to my writings which are to become the voice of the Arab women in the diaspora. As I studied Literature, I became fond of writing and eager to become the voice of the unvoiced. My PhD supervisor noticed my talent in writing and in highlighting the sufferings of minorities and women in patriarchal societies. Thus, he stressed the importance of raising my voice through writing. Since I have always followed my intellectual curiosity to take on challenging courses and build a solid academic foundation for my intended pursuit of research, I decided to strengthen my talent with academic study. Consequently, I decided to earn an MFA in Creative Writing. I chose to apply to the MFA in creative writing at UBC for several reasons. First, UBC is one of the best universities in the world that offer this program. Second, the courses depend on workshops. I am looking forward to gaining more professional experience and knowledge through these workshops, where exchanging experiences and professional techniques with peers could sharpen my writing skills. The third reason is that it offers opportunities of learning various teaching methods of writing and how I can develop my career off-classroom. Finally, it offers opportunities to get engaged with visiting writers. In conclusion, I believe this is the perfect program for me to achieve my goals as a writer and professor. I am interested in engaging in the multi-genre approach that is offered by the program. I aim to challenge my potentials and get out of my creative comfort zone to express myself through new genres of writing like drama and biographies. In short, I take this MFA as a gateway to be a writing professor and become a professional writer accepted by the publishing industry.