Proper function of prison is to punish criminals and life in prison should be hard. Do you agree or disagree?

The adequate work of prison is to give a hard life to the criminal and should punish the perpetator perpetrators. This essay agrees with the statement as it restricts the offender to commit further crimes and also gives justice to the victim. Criminal sent to the jail should be be treated hard enough to have the frightening impact of the life in prison in future restricting them to redo the crime. To say this, suitable punishment should be given to an individual according to the crime he has done to make him realise of his offense and how it can ruin his life. Therefore, making criminals to be aware of their illegal action and it's impacts on their lives. For example, recent survey done in 2019 of Indian prsions persons reveals that 43% of the people are one time criminal and has stoped it after having hard time behind the bar. Also, giving tough time to the prisoners makes the sufferer feel heard by the goverment. To say that, people who are victims thinks of getting justice to them and if the legislations make strict rules for the criminals and their lives in jails are made real tough that gives the suferer breath of relief asin terms of justice to her. As a result, enables people to rely on the actions taken by goverenment instead of hitting back to the criminals making the victim as another criminal. For instance, Rapists in Damini rape case got the hanging punishment by the Indian govermnet giving justice to Damini's family and a hope to other victims to get justice. In conclusion, making life in prison hard with suitable punishements punishment encourages the criminals to stop commiting crimes further and it also support victims in getting justice.