Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Much controversy has been aroused over the topic of people's independent level. While many people believe that people become reliant on others, I suppose that people are free and independent in modern life. Discussed below are the reasons supporting the two opposing points of view, followed by my personal opinion. On the one hand, the main reason why people become more reliant is that the development of society requires cooperation. First, to develop the economy, cooperation among people, companies and countries has become an essential tendency. Since individuals or organizations can affect both positively and negatively on each other, a dependent relationship is found. Besides this, technology, transportation and personal items are asked to get higher quality. This leads to most careers in manufacturing being more complicated and no individual can cover all steps to make the final products. For instance, in the automotive industry, there are many steps to produce a car such as design, manufacturing, marketing and selling. A designer cannot create their products if they do not have discussion and support from skilled workers who directly make each part of the car. As a result, all members of society are more dependent on each other. On the other hand, it is believed that people are less dependent due to the positive changes in education. To begin, because of the hectic life, children are sent to kindergarten when they are only 10 months or 1 year old. Thus, children are more independent and less reliant on their parents. In addition to this, in higher education, students are often encouraged to do part-time jobs by their parents and schools with the purpose of enhancing their experience and covering their living expenses. Also, nowadays, there is a tendency of taking a gap year after high school graduation. In more detail, instead of attending university immediately, many youngsters take one gap year to work to save money, get experience and learn soft skills. For the aforementioned reason, it is believed that the individuals in current life are more confident and independent. In conclusion, although people become reliant because of the requirements of careers, I personally think that the changes of educational methods support people to be more independent.