The number of advertisements for charities on television and the internet seems to be increasing. What is causing this ? Is this a positive or negative development ? Give reasons for your answer & include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is notorious how many charities are choosing to advertise their activities on mass media, particularly on television. Some are wondering the reason behind this situation, as well as if it is a positive or negative development. The origin and implications of the late surge of T.V charity commercials will be analyzed here. It is well established the most popular mass communication media is television. For example, we can confidently say this based on the fact every household owns at least one, in many cases more than that. Therefore, with one advertisement charity organisations can reach a large number of people. Consequently, television spots have become the most popular method of publicity among these organisations. Communities with a strong support network and enough resources from their government will not need to rely on these organisations. For instance, a thriving population should have fewer charities soliciting. Hence seeing more advertisements means the population is not being aided by the authorities enough. Admittedly, seeing more charity spots on television is a negative reflection of the community's status and its government's performance. As a result we can say that seeing fewer advertisements is positive. In conclusion, it is no surprise that charities are choosing television to gain more donations as it represents the soundest financial choice. Nevertheless, seeing more organisations asking for money speaks badly of the pertinent authorities who should be bearing the burden and not these social groups. Despite all this, charity organisations are looking for new ways to gather money. Though television will always be the most popular and effective.