In some countries, more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this question?

The history of the house or building has been more and more interesting to research by many owners and tenants in some nations. That could be because of cultural beliefs or structural concerns and this can be found out by seeking the help of neighbours or the authorities. Firstly, a crucial reason why many people are fascinated to find out about the past records of their houses is due to the trust based on the culture of the country. To be precise, some Asians believe that bad luck may continue if the previous owners encountered serious accidents while living in a specific place. Another reason people are becoming interested in discovering the building they occupied is that knowing the material used or nature of the structure can help to decide the lifespan of the building. Especially, when the tenants intend to proceed with the renovation, the exact locations of the main structural column or beam must be learned in order to avoid the unnecessary failure of the whole structure. There is no doubt that there are many ways to uncover the building’s history. However, the most simple and useful method would be to simply ask the neighbours since they usually know the best as they have been living there for a long time. For example, the local community of the town can have the data of the people living in the surrounding area. Moreover, they can obtain the required documents such as plans and photo records of the construction stages of the house in order to study the history of it by requesting the local authorities. For instance, a whole lot of construction documents have to be submitted to the Building Construction Authority in Singapore, in consequence, any data needed to be analysed can get in future requirements. In conclusion, the more occupiers are interested in the past of their house by their belief and construction requirements. It can be learned by talking to local people or authorities.