Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Technology has definitely revolutionized personal relationships, and it has affected a considerable faction of our society these days. The purpose of this essay is to investigate these effects and to support the opinion that it was beneficial to human beings. On the one hand, interactions became easier and more accessible with technological development. This is because people are now able to make long-distance calls at no extra cost, just by using the Internet. For instance, the usage of video chats was particularly relevant for virtual interactions during the COVID-19 pandemic, when people needed to stay at home to avoid the disease. Additionally, relationships were also enhanced since cultural and social barriers could be minimized by technological solutions such as online translators, or social media apps, which provide a glance at people's lives worldwide. On the other hand, relationships ' reliability has weakened due to today's innovations. WhatsApp, to mention, allows sending quick messages to everyone, disregarding face-to-face talks. Moreover, since it is not possible to ensure the identity of one behind the screen, the sense of insecurity increases, and to preserve their integrity, people tend not to create strong bonds with people whom they do not know well. To illustrate, there is an increasing number of crimes involving fake profiles and catfishing, many of them including exposure to private content and cyberbullying, which leads to a lack of confidence in virtual relationships. To sum up, the interaction among many people has been modified as a result of technological evolution. Despite its drawbacks related to relations' reliability, the benefits seem to be relevant, especially those associated with the facility and accessibility technology provides, and, in this context, I believe it has been a positive development.