Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, people become more concerned about the environment due to heavy damages from human activities in the last century. However, some people believe that the main environmental issue of our time is the loss of specific species of plants and animals while others argue that there are more important environmental problems to consider. Consequently, both sides will be discussed below. It is a fact that the loss of particular species of plants and animals are definitely critical to the ecosystem, and human activities as those species drive the natural cycle of food, reproduction, and evolution to each other. In addition, these losses mean that human experiments and researches may be prevented or never be discovered in the future such as medical cures. However, these extinctions of specific species may lead to benefit as well. For instance, the COVID-19 developed from the consumption of various wild animals like bats or rats. If some of those species disappear, the pandemic may not occur or may not be as fatal to death condition. On the other hand, other environmental issues are believed to be more concerned than the loss of some animal and plant species. Global climate change is one of those major issues. Climate change can cause ice melting in the north and south poles, which directly affects the sea level to rise. This can lead to the reduction of the land surface and may destroy most of the earth species in the long term. A similar event may appear in the ocean as the rise of sea level may significantly change the marine lives' behaviour and habitat due to the higher tide and the temperature change in the sea. These may result in a destruction of several marine species. In conclusion, both views can lead to mass destruction of any species, and will obviously affect the human way of living from today onward. Therefore, in my opinion, the world organizations and all nations of the earth should begin a serious plan in solving those issues and cooperate in healing this planet together for as long as we stay in it.