Do you thing the advantages of driverless vehicle outweigh the disadvantages?

Issues related to the implementation of self-driving cars are discussed these days. It is true that with today’s advanced technologies, vehicles may be systematically driven by themselves in the future, no more drivers. Despite the fact that this technology has some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits. On the one hand, there are a number of demerits associated with the driverless car. One significant disadvantage is increasing in the unemployment rate. What this mean is that millions of people all around the world who work in trucking, public transit, and delivery services may lose their jobs since less drivers are needed which may contribute to economic issues. Besides, another negative aspect is cyber-security threats. It is undeniable that when vehicles rely on computers to function, they are susceptible to cyber threats which may cause system error or uncontrollable. A good case in this point is that when a hacker broke the car brake system and an accident occurred, as a result it may cost us our life. On the other hand, I would argue that these disadvantages are outweighed by the positive effects. One of the obvious benefits of this is reducing vehicle crashes. Indeed, it is very often the case that the majority of motor vehicle crashes are due to human error; driver fatigue, inattention and distracted driving, and alcohol-related impairment, which can be eliminated by using fully self-driving vehicles. The research from Utrecht University shows that the accuracy of driverless vehicles is 40% higher than human drives. In addition, it would create an easier access for elderly and disabled people who cannot drive a car. This means that they would have the opportunities to travel, see the doctors, or even go to work on their own which may create more equality in our society. All things considered, despite some negative aspects such as losing a job and system security, it seems to me that the benefits of driverless vehicles are more significant for the reason mentioned above. Therefore, people could be safer in self-driving vehicles and the government should prepare an alternative job for those drivers.