The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the price of fuels. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is claimed that increasing the cost of fossil fuels is the best way to tackle environmental issues. Although it could be beneficial to do that, I disagree that this is the best solution. On the one hand, I admit that growing the cost of fuels may achieve some short-term results. By increasing the price, the demand for using fossil fuels may decline for a short period of time, and also a lot of unnessecery usage of fuels is omitted from the daily routines. For instance, the majority of the society, who use private cars for more comfortability, may prefer public transportation for a lower cost. However, these temporary results do not remain for a long time, and there are some better ways to protect the environment. Firstly, governments should teach society how various kinds of pollution, such as water pollution, can affect our globe. This awareness will have positive effects on the globe in a long period of time and is also more useful due to the fact that it is not just about fossil fuel pollution. Secondly, the governments should invest more money in researches, which try to find alternative ways for producing energy. By providing a cheaper alternative people, themselves, prefer using the one which is less harmful to the environment. In conclusion, although the high cost of fuels may help to reduce the problems in the environment, I affirm my disagreement that it is the best way to do that.