The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, more and more fund is allocated by the government to the arts as well as to public services and facilities. While some people concur that spending money on public services is vital, I strongly believe that investment in the arts is not a waste of money. On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the state’s revenue on public services is essential for several reasons. First and foremost, public places like schools and hospitals are necessary for a better standard of living. In fact, if the state invests in these places, the locals’ well-being will be well-catered and young generations will enjoy a much-needed education, which contributes to better life quality. In addition to this, in countries where the authorities actively finance public facilities, their economy is fostered. Singapore’s government, for example, has spent a large amount of money on schools, roads, and public amenities. This spending facilitates the residents’ lives and work, and when people ’s basic needs are perfectly taken care of, they are inspired to devote more effort to enhance the economic performance of the country. On the other hand, this does not mean that the arts should be completely neglected. The arts play an important role in leisure life. Many people get great pleasure in going to see music and theatre performances, so it is crucial that the government assists art institutions to continue providing the public with entertainment. Furthermore, arts of all forms shoulder the responsibility of keeping a nation’s culture and heritage alive through time. Every art leads back to ancient history and portraits cultural aspects in the modern world. Therefore, when the arts are valued and supported by the financial state, not only the indigenous people can learn about their country’s history, but also people around the globe have knowledge of divergent cultures. To sum up, it is undeniable that public services are vital to invest more funds in order to enhance the mental life of humans. However, the arts should not be underestimated since they preserve a country’s culture in almost time.