With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?.

Obesity has become a major problem in almost every country, some people suggest that the universities make all students participate in sport regardless of their subjects. I completely disagree with this view since not everyone wants to study sport, so it should be an optional course. In addition, exercise is not the only way to lose weight. To start with, sport is not something that every student could do and some students do also not enjoy it, if we force them to learn about the sport, it will make them dislike or hate sport than before. For example, people get frustrated every time when other people make them do activities they do not want to do, so it will be obviously better if the students can make a choice. Moreover, playing sports is not the only activity that an overweight person could do to reduce their weight. They can also do other activities instead, for instance, going on a diet or consulting with a professional to find the most suitable way for them. When someone gets a piece of advice from some people whom they know that expert with this field, even if they have to do some exercises or play some sports, they will definitely do it, unlike being forced by universities. In conclusion, the obesity problem should not be fixed by making every student take part in sports, because the students should choose each subject by themself. Additionally, there are more ways to get rid of their weight.