Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What actions should individuals take to protect the environment?

It is true that there is an obvious increase in awareness of protecting the environment among the public. Knowing the importance of the environment, many people do little about it. In this essay, I will discuss the reason behind this phenomenon and show ways that individuals can take to protect the environment. There are two main reasons why lots of people make less efforts to protect the environment. Firstly, some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to address. For example, many people regard these problems, like air pollution and greenhouse gas, as the real ones, which need the international cooperation of countries all over the world, rather than being done by individuals. Secondly, they also reckon governments should be responsible for the action of protecting the environment. For instance, although they know that depleting trees would exert a series of environmental influences, such as soil erosion, they still use disposable chopsticks as they think abandoning their way of life is unworthy and the government could do it well. In short, those who make little effort to protect the environment have ignored the effects that individuals can have on it. In my opinion, tons of actions can be adopted by individuals to protect our planet. For one thing, people can choose to use public transport as much as possible, because reducing the utility of private cars could alleviate the gas emission which is the main source of air pollution in cities. Another activity is that recycling use plastics that is also the main pollution factor due to their non-degraded nature. Take plastic bags as an example, because of their convenience, many people would use them when shopping and then use them as garbage bags put in the bin. As a result, a great deal of bags is buried under the ground, which could pollute the soil permanently. In a nutshell, ignoring the strength of individuals for protecting the environment, many people do less than talk, but these simple and feasible tips deserve more attention from ordinary people. Therefore, I firmly believe that average people could make great contributions to environmental problems.