Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss Both views and give your opinion.

There are two opposite views regarding how much advertising can affect consumerism. While some believe it has a low effect on shopping habits, others say it has a huge impact on people. I believe the second group hold stronger reasons. On the one hand, I admit why some people underestimate the role of advertisements. They may think because of the regular and repeated ways of advertising, no one pays attention to them, and this made them unuseful. In addition, they may argue that when a company insists on selling its products, people just do not trust it anymore. However, despite such claims, the second group has much stronger arguments. The first reason is the role of technology in the advertising industry. The new advertisements use high-tech software and even IT to analyse every customer behaviour, so the contents, colours or even sounds they use is programmed to encourage audiences to buy. Furthermore, since social media have been spreading every day, consumerism become more popular, and by getting used to it, even weak companies do not need a brilliant idea for advertising. In conclusion, although those who claim that advertising become dysfunctional since they are repeated every day, the group believing this industry still impact shopping habits have much more reasonable arguments to say.