Some people think that individuals are becoming more dependent on each other in modern society, while others believe that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Individuals' dependency in the contemporary world has been argued by members of society. There are mixed opinions about this topic, while many people think that in this age and day human beings are less dependent on each other, others think the opposite. In this essay I will discuss both sides and state my view. It is undeniable that the invention of the internet and social media has a considerable influence on its users, especially the young generation. The trend of flexing perfect, flawless and affluent life goes viral on the internet, along with beauty standards being set by the models and actors/actresses leading many people to extreme decisions namely plastic surgery, or fake up their life. Furthermore, the baby-boom generation is also surrounded by the internet and technology that help them to live a more convenient life that they may not survive without. These facts are showing how vulnerable and dependent people nowadays are. By contrast, there are figures proving that people are more independent compares to the past. Research pointed out that more than 70% of people move out and set up their own lives by the age of 18, while only 40% was recorded in the last decade. Asian countries, which are famous for getting married early and living in the extended family, for example, has witnessed a lower married rate in the last 20 years owing to the fact that woman in this society is more confident and do not need a man to cover for her. If they received more education, they would be more independent and free. Therefore this is now a trend in Asia of career-minded women. In sum, while the mental health of people in modern society is manipulated by a lot of marketing, advertisings and social media, they still show positive signs of being self-determination. Therefore, I am more inclined to believe in the self-rule and independence of this generation.