International travel has become more affordable and many countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

Thanks to developments in technology, international trips have been more popular, and the number of sightseers is rising. Although this trend has many merits, I believe that it has also some disadvantages. On the one hand, this increasing rate is advantageous to some extent. Firstly, it has caused the economic situations of countries to be improved by growing their revenue. For instance, in Turkey, significant amounts of income have earned annually by the tourists who purchase many goods from this country or pay money for visiting its historical places. Secondly, this tendency has provided many opportunities for the students who have a goal to promote themselves by studying overseas. Finally, the culture of countries has developed since travellers have imitated the appropriate social customs of foreign communities. On the other hand, I believe that the upward trend of international travel has two major drawbacks. The main shortcoming is that the domestic trips are reduced. As a result, people are less informed about their own culture because travelling to the internal areas would cause individuals to become more familiar with their traditions. In addition, the popularity of foreign journeys has converted some regions to hectic places which their citizens cannot live effortlessly in their hometowns. For example, in Mashhad, one of the tourist centres in Iran with religious attractions, dwellers are suffering from the heavy traffic due to the high numbers of abroad visitors. In conclusion, while the growing numbers of foreign journeys have far beneficial for countries, It also has some negative impacts on these societies.