Nowadays, cheaper airfares have enabled air travel more frequent. Some people see this as a positive development, while others are against it. Provide your thoughts and explain with relevant examples.

Reduction in prices of air tickets has rendered air travel a common means of transportation these days. Although not favoured by some, I consider this development absolutely positive for the ease of travelling all over the globe and the economic benefits that it offers to the airlines. To begin with, cheaper air tickets have made it easy for people to travel to different destinations globally. Gone are the days when people used to wait for discounts and deals to plan domestic and international trips as the affordable rates of fares have now made it possible to arrange for their tours more conveniently than ever; for example, travelling to the UAE from Pakistan was once considered as a luxury due to the high ticket rates, as opposed to now when the diminished fare prices have made it a popular holiday destination for the Pakistanis. Therefore, if the merits of cutting down airfares are considered, it is the feasibility of travelling worldwide that tops the list. Notwithstanding the contribution of cheap air travel in making international commute convenient, the role that it plays in the economic growth of airlines is irrefutable. The low-cost fares have attracted potential customers to air travel companies, thereby providing them with numerous economic advantages. For instance, after Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) curtailed the ticket price of domestic flights, a tremendous increase was seen in the number of passengers travelling inter-city, providing a huge amount of profit to PIA; hence, low-cost aeroplane- travel is a source of profit-making for the airlines by motivating people to use it. In conclusion, air travel has become increasingly widespread due to decreased airfares. It is for the ease of travelling to different countries and offering opportunities for economic growth to airlines, that I believe this trend to be a positive development.