Many people believe that social networking sites (such as fb) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, with the advancement of technology, there are several internet surfing sites that have developed. The younger generations with easy access to these platforms are preferring meeting up online rather than in person. This might have a larger impact on behaviour patterns amongst all. I strongly believe that if these websites are not used in a controlled manner, it can cause a negative impact. On one hand, digital media offers with a variety of activities that could be done online like meeting new people and linking with old friends. In addition to it, Facebook, Instagram, now also provides a business page for marketing, shopping, etc. As a result, these have been proven to be one of the best mediums for small and medium-size enterprises to reach larger customers, extending a global reach. In the recent COVID-19 pandemic, social networking sites provided people with a new hang out place. Amidst lockdown, acted as a ray of light, helped reduce the feeling of loneliness and provided a place to connect and confront each other. On the other hand, since everything is made available on these mediums, the dependency on an offline mediums is reducing. For instance, people now tend to interact less in person with each other. No one bothers to talk to the neighbour but would want to know everything happening in another country. Doctors concluded that due to these addictions of surfing, many have generated the syndrome of FOMO (Fear of Missing out) which brings anxiety and insecurities amongst the individuals. With access to the world in hand, the irony is that it is creating bubbles within society. In addition to it, this has created a lot of security problems. As per Bloomberg Magazine, a recent study shows, that hacking and thefts have increased to five times fold in the last two years. To conclude, social websites have several positive impacts and have helped reduce stress levels but at the same, time they are making them more vulnerable as an individual and as a society. I strongly agree that the negative impacts will have larger implications on the humankind.