Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many strongly believe that art lessons namely painting or drawing play an important role in the progress of children compared to other subjects; hence, it is mandatory for high schoolers. From my point of view, although those classes are necessary for the growth of teenagers, they should only be optional at school. It is obvious that the development of many children relates directly to art areas. Painting and drawing enhance their emotional intelligence, while math offers a lot of chances to foster their mental ability and problem-solving skills by working with digital. In addition, by paying attention to these classes, high school students have more opportunities to observe and understand the emotions and messages of artists better. As a result, they can come up with more ideas to increase the ability to communicate with others; in turn, can also connect and create various great relationships. On the other hand, no matter how important these subjects are, they should be optional for teenagers while studying and exploring new knowledge. The first reason is that if painting lessons are compulsory at school, boredom can stress the students out, putting a lot of pressure on them. Vietnamese students are the best example of this phenomenon. They have to learn many mandatory subjects such as math, chemistry or physics. Additionally, it is difficult for everyone to improve their artistic skills in a short time, which may negatively affect the students’ results at the end of the term. Instead, they can spend this time on their other essential subjects for university, so they can dedicate themselves to their passions and personal goals in life. In conclusion, in spite of several distinctive benefits of other subjects in high school, art classes are indispensable. To be honest, it does not need to be compulsory in high schools.